Twitter Blue to roll out on December 12: Pricing, features and more

After glitches, delays, postponements and some more, Twitter is ready to roll out the Twitter Blue service. The subscription service has been Elon Musk’s ‘pet’ project ever since he took over Twitter on October 28. In a series of tweets, Twitter has confirmed the rollout of Twitter Blue and here we tell you all you need to know about it:
When is Twitter Blue launching?
Twitter said that Twitter Blue is “relaunching” on Monday — which is December 12. Do keep in mind that it might be a gradual rollout, so it might not reach all the users on December 12.
How much will Twitter Blue cost?
There are two pricing tiers for Twitter Blue. Users who subscribe to it from the web version of Twitter, will have to pay $8 per month. In case, users subscribe to Twitter Blue from the iOS app, they will have to shell out $11. It’s not been clarified how much will it cost on Android but chances are that it will be $11 only.
Why is the iOS version more expensive?
Apple charges a 30% commission from all developers for in-app subscription services. Musk had threatened to wage a brief so-called ‘war’ against Apple and the commission. However, it turned out to be a damp squib as he claimed to have met Apple CEO Tim Cook and had a “good conversation” to clear “misunderstandings”.
What features will users get with Twitter Blue?
Some of the features that Twitter said will be a part of the subscription service are the ability to edit tweets, a reader mode, and 1080p video uploads. And then there’s the blue checkmark.
What happened to the grey and gold checkmarks?
They are very much a part of Twitter Blue. Twitter said that users will get a blue checkmark — after their account has been reviewed — with Twitter Blue. Twitter will start replacing that “official label with a gold checkmark for businesses, and later in the week a grey checkmark for government and multilateral accounts.”
What else should you know about Twitter Blue?
Twitter has also clarified that subscribers will be able to change their handle, display name or profile photo, “but if they do they’ll temporarily lose the blue checkmark until their account is reviewed again”.




Source link

WORLD NEWS